top of page

Types of Fire Risk Assessments

There are four main types of residential fire risk assessments depending on their level of risk and the inspection that has to be carried out. A type 4 fire risk assessment is the most detailed assessment that can be carried out because it involves the most comprehensive testing techniques.

However, there are different types of fire risk assessments for residential properties, for varying levels of risk.

Type 1 Fire Risk Assessment
(common parts – non-destructive)

The first type of risk assessment is type 1, which is the most basic FRA required by the Fire Safety Order (FSO), with the inspection of the building classed as non-destructive.

A type 1 FRA checks the arrangements that have been made for people to escape should a fire occur. It also involves conducting an examination of the entry and exit points of doors to flats. This type of assessment does not require access to individual flats.

The assessor will also inspect areas of the building where a false ceiling is in place. Following the completion of the assessment, a report will be prepared and may recommend that further types of fire risk assessment take place.

Type 2 Fire Risk Assessment
(common parts – destructive)

Unlike a type 1 assessment, which is non-destructive in its nature, a type 2 fire risk assessment involves checking the destructive parts of the premises. A contractor may be required to take part in order to open up areas of the building, and repair them once the FRA has been completed.

Any minor or major problems on the premises will be reported and then a full repair undertaken. Due to this FRA being destructive, it is better if the properties are vacant.

Type 3 Fire Risk Assessment
(common parts and flats – non-destructive)

A type 3 FRA is similar to a type 1, but assessment will take place within the flats as well as the common areas of the building. This involves checking the means of escape, the fire resistance of doors inside flats, fire alarms and a check of all fire warning systems.

Type 4 Fire Risk Assessment
(common parts and flats – destructive)

A type 4 fire risk assessment is one the most comprehensive inspections that can be carried out on residential buildings. Very similar to type 3 and type 2, a type 4 fire risk assessment checks common areas and flats, but can be destructive.

This involves asking a contractor to create openings for inspections to take place on certain fire stopping points inside the premises. The contractor will then repair any damage. Also, just like a type 2 FRA, it is ideal if the properties are vacant at the time of inspection.

bottom of page